Window Car Tinting Laws in New Mexico

New Mexico Car Window Tinting Laws: A Comprehensive Overview

In New Mexico, car window tinting is a favored vehicle modification, offering both aesthetic enhancements and protection from the sun’s harsh rays.

For drivers in the Land of Enchantment, it’s essential to be informed about New Mexico’s tinting regulations.

This article provides a clear outline of New Mexico’s car tint laws.

1. Front Windshield:

  • Tinting is allowed above the manufacturer’s AS-1 line or the top 5 inches, whichever comes first.
  • Reflective or mirror-like finishes are not permitted.

2. Front Side Windows:

  • These windows must allow 20% or more of light to pass through.
  • Reflective tints are not allowed.

3. Back Side Windows:

  • For cars, these windows must also allow 20% or more of light to pass through.
  • Reflective tints are prohibited.

4. Rear Window:

  • Tinting is permitted, but if the rear window is tinted, the vehicle must have dual side mirrors for clear visibility.

5. Tint Colors:

  • New Mexico does not have specific restrictions on tint colors.

6. Medical Exceptions:

  • New Mexico provides exceptions for individuals requiring specific tints due to medical conditions. Proper documentation from a licensed physician is mandatory.

7. Quality Standards:

  • When considering window tinting in New Mexico, it’s crucial to choose a shop that uses state-compliant tint materials. They should be able to provide certification or proof of compliance upon request.

8. Tint Stickers:

  • Legally tinted vehicles in New Mexico should have a sticker, typically located on the driver’s side window.

9. Compliance:

  • Adhering to New Mexico’s tinting guidelines is essential. Non-compliance can result in penalties.

This article is based on information available as of 2022.

Understanding and adhering to car window tinting laws in New Mexico ensures a compliant driving experience.

For the most up-to-date information on New Mexico’s tint regulations, it’s recommended to consult the DMV or local law enforcement agencies.